The webpage for cultural marketing & cultural sponsoring
Cultural Brands Award

European Cultural Manager of the Year 2021

Cultural managers plan, develop and manage cultural projects as well as cultural and leisure facilities. They are active in city marketing or in companies. In a public, private and non-profit context, they untiringly create conditions for cultural activities and bring culture to the public and the public to culture. The “European Cultural Manager of the Year” is bestowed on personalities who have rendered outstanding services through professional cultural management and exceptional means of cultural mediation. Please submit your suggestions!

Evaluation criteria of the jury

  • _Exemplary design drive and trend-setting inventiveness
  • _Good courage for new approaches in cultural mediation
  • _Management competencies such as communication skills, leadership and credibility
  • _Cooperative thinking and networking
  • _Sustainability: implementation of economic, ecological and social criteria (desirable)

Who can make proposals for this category?

The submission of proposals is free of charge and may only be performed by third parties. The proposal can be submitted by legal entities or by private persons. Cultural managers from all over Europe, regardless of local, regional or international background, may be nominated. This includes:

  • _Decision-makers and committed staff from cultural projects and institutions
  • _Cultural representatives and cultural communicators from commercial enterprises
  • _Culturally committed citizens from politics, administration and tourism organizations

1. Online Registration

Please register via our online forum by September 6, 2021. The confirmation of your registration will be sent via email together with a bill for the application fee, which must be paid within 10 days of receipt.

2. Submission of your application

Please submit the following materials via Google Forms by September 6, 2021:

  • _brief summary of your application (500 characters)
  • _Free-form presentation with a maximum of ten PDF pages or PowerPoint slides, or you can send us a personal statement
      explaining why you would like to be considered for the award (please base these on the category's evaluation criteria)
  • _At least two high resolution pictures of the person
  • _Printable logo of the workplace (optional)
  • _brief summary of your application (500 characters)
  • _Printed materials to document the effect (fliers, posters, ...) (optional)
  • _Film materials (optional, if available)

The winners from previous years


Markus Rindt

Dresdner Sinfoniker



Folkert Uhde

Radialsystem V



Silke Fischer

Märchenland e.V.



Jürgen Bachmann




Klaus Stieringer

Stadtmarketing Bamberg



Udo Kittelmann

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin





André Schmitz

Schwarzkopf Stiftung





Hedy Graber

Migros Kulturprozent





Dr. Thomas Girst

BMW Group




2016 - Lifetime

Jürgen Flimm

Intendant der Staatsoper Berlin 



Frances Morris

Tate Modern London



2017 - Lifetime

Prof. Gereon Sievernich





Amelie Deuflhard    

Kampnagel Hamburg



2018 - Lifetime

Dieter Kosslick

Direktor der Internationalen 
Filmfestspiele Berlin




Hedwig Fijen   

Direktorin Manifesta        


2019 - Lifetime

Prof. Dr. Oliver Scheytt

Kulturexperte, ehemaliger Präsident
der KuPoGe


Dr. Yvette Mutumba & Julia Grosse

Gründerinnen der Kunst-Plattform „Contemporary And“


     2020 - Lifetime

Leoluca Orlando

Bürgermeister der Stadt Palermo


      Premium Partner